Six Smart Schools Were Identified

Post date: Sep 28, 2010 7:43:08 AM

Written by Mrs. Jennifer G. De Guzman

Thursday, 25 September 2008

Six Smart Schools were identified last September 19, 2008 in Balanga Integrated School Friendship Hall by the Smart Schools Program Project Officer Joy E. Lapuz. . The six Smart Schools are G.L. David Mem. Elementary School, Our Lady of Lourdes Elementary School, Bani Elementary School, Tanato Elementary School, Cabog- Cabog Elementary School and Balanga Integrated School. Dr. Lilia M. Santiago, Schools Division Superintendent and Hon. Joet S. Garcia III, City Mayor of Balanga City together with Mr. Geoffrey C. Loyola, Provincial MIS Head graced and witnessed the occasion. City Mayor Joet S. Garcia initiated and talked to Smart to consider Balanga City as recipient of Smart Schools Program since it ranked 1st in NAT nationwide.

Seventeen (17) school heads from the two districts in the Division of Balanga City were all present in the orientation namely Norma C. Vasquez of BIS, Elena V. Medina of M.Delos Reyes Mem. E/S, Jennifer G. De Guzman of Tortugas E/S, Ellen C. Macaraeg of Tuyo E/S, Soledad S. Carlos of T. Camacho Sr. E/S, Ma. Jovita B. Singzon of Our Lady of Lourdes E/S, Zenaida C. San Pedro of G.L. David Mem. E/S, Ramil C. Cubales of M.P. Cuaderno Sr. Mem. E/S, Merlinda T. Tablan of Cupang E/S, Teresita B. Dilig of Tenejero E/S, Dr. Bernadette G. Paraiso of Cataning E/S, Agnes O. Magdalera of Bo. Central E/S, Amelia T. Inieto of Bagong Silang E/S, Lisa G. Austria of Tanato E/S, Dr. Alma V. Poblete of Cabog-Cabog E/S, Violeta V. Zeller of E. Bernabe E/S and Edna Q Polache of Bani E/S .

Smart Schools Program (SSP) supports DepEd’s Adopt-A-School Program. Primarily, SSP provides internet access via Smart Bro, gives partners schools access to on-line content and sponsors trainings for teachers on various ICT related courses that these interventions could contribute to the improvement of classroom teaching and student learning.

Smart Schools will be officially launched on October 09, 2008, 10am at BIS Friendship Hall.