Division Seminar-Workshop in Campus Journalism at DepEd Balanga City: A Challenging and Successful Undertaking

Post date: Aug 15, 2014 7:54:52 AM

by Dr. Corazon T. Lopez

Participants to the Division Seminar – Workshop in Campus Journalism as they painstakingly write the hottest local news during

the News Writing Contest.

“Superb presentation of topics, very challenging workshops and a rich experience to the School Paper Advisers!” exclaimed

by Mrs. Virginia D. Enriquez, Head of the English Department at Bataan National High School.

This is how Mrs. Enriquez, one of the participants, described the three-day Division Seminar-Workshop in Campus Journalism which was held on July 24-26, 2014 at M. P. Cuaderno Memorial Elementary School and was participated in by 70 School Paper Advisers from public and private elementary and secondary schools, 12 School Heads and one department head in the Division of Balanga City.

This journalistic activity was the brainchild of Dr. Corazon T. Lopez, Education Program Supervisor in Filipino. The findings in her Action Research entitled “Factors Affecting the Dwindling Performance of DepEd Balanga City in the Regional and National Campus Journalism Competitions” revealed that there is indeed a dire need to conduct this noble undertaking. Hence, it primarily aimed to improve the performance of DepEd Balanga City in Campus Journalism competitions. Its specific objectives were: to equip the neophyte School Paper Advisers with news writing, collaborative publishing and broadcasting knowledge and skills and to enhance those of the seasoned ones, deepen the participants’ interest and love for Campus Journalism and to further improve their School Paper advising tasks and styles.

To achieve the aforementioned objectives, resource speakers with vast experiences in the field of Campus Journalism were invited. They were as follows: Mr. Ariel C. Lansang-Desktop Collaborative Publishing, Mr. Arlene James S. Pagaduan-Radio Scriptwriting and Broadcasting and Dr. Flora D. Canare-Editorial Writing, Newswriting and Feature Writing. Undoubtedly, they discussed their respective topics with vigor, clarity and expertise. Mrs. Jovy Singzon, Principal of G. L. David Elementary School, enably tackled the rights and duties of School Paper Advisers.

The resource speakers were not contented in just giving lectures, so they furtherly challenged the participants to draw out their best during news writing, desktop collaborative publishing and broadcasting workshops, wherein the best outputs in these categories were chosen and cash awards and certificates of recognitions were given. The participants who garnered awards are the following:

Desktop Collaborative Publishing

First Place

Lourdes B. Fabrez, Melinda J. Nisay

Melinda S. Mendoza, Donna C. Caragay

Sonia A. Labrador, Angelica T. Ambrocio

Aiza O. Pabustan

Second Place

Joahna S. Sabado, Arlene S. Reyes,

Almaira R. Dalidig, Maristela D. Fabian

Mirasol L. Galang, Cherrilyn L. Mata,

Socorro V. Gutierrez

Third Place

Carla D. Rivera, Veronica Michelle Tuazon

Luzviminda E. Montemayor

Mary Grace C. Dela Cruz

Anecia L. Rapiz, Neriza P. Cabreta

Edelyn T. Manalaysay

Radio Scriptwriting & Broadcasting

First Place

Analiza S. Dispo, Tammie Marie G. Nisay

Ramir T. Figuracion, Catherine D. Ambrocio

Michael Ven D. Ariem, Mary Grace B. Almario

Second Place

Carla D. Rivera, Veronica Michelle Tuazon

Luzviminda E. Montemayor

Mary Grace C. Dela Cruz, Anecia L. Rapiz,

Mrs. Neriza P. Cabreta

Mrs. Edelyn T. Manalaysay

Third Place

Ma. Elena B. Mallari, Mary Ann G. Balajo

Agripina Buensuceso, Nerissa D. de Jesus

Sandee C. Olubia, Clair C. Basi

Dianalyn P. Santos

Best Infomercial Producers : Carleen S. Bautista, Rose Andrea M. Garcia

Best in Technical Application: Dianalyn P. Santos

Best Scriptwriter: Ramir T, Figuracion

Best News Presenter: Veronica Michelle Tuazon

In News writing, Editorial Writing and Feature Writing (in their respective orders), the First placers are: Carleen Bianca S. Bautista, Veronica Michelle Tuazon and Mercedita J. Nuestro; Second Placers are: Rechelle V. Forbes, Lourdes V. Fabrez and Kristine Joy L. Andres, and the Third placers are : Jennifer J. Tutol, Elna T. Valencia and Angelica T. Ambrocio.

Dr. Lopez took also the activity as the most opportune time to induct the new set of DSPAA officers namely; President-Mrs. Analiza S. Dispo, Vice-President-Mrs. Veronica S. Tuazon, Secretary-Mrs. Edelyn T. Manalaysay, Treasurer-Mrs. Carla D. Rivera, Peace Officer-Mr. Dennis Flores, PRO-Mrs Arlene S. Reyes, Mrs. Joahna S. Sabado, Auditor-Mr. Eduardo F. Molina.

The evaluation of the participants to the training showed that the general impact of the activity to them was “Excellent,” which shows that it was indeed a successful undertaking.

Aside from the aforementioned resource persons who contributed to the success of the training, the following factors were also considered: the inspirational message of the Schools Division Superintendent, Dr. Ronaldo A. Pozon, the assistance of Acting Supervisor in English, Mrs. Marlyn B. Gerio during the training proper and the enthusiastic support of the newly installed Division School Paper Advisers Association Officers (DSPAA).